Research

Master in Data Science for Public Decision Making

The Master’s degree in Data Science for Public Decision Making is one of the programs offered within the Master’s degree in Applied Mathematics and Statistics co-accredited with the University of Rennes 1.  The “Public Evaluation and Decision-making” Master program will be replaced by the “Data Science for Public Decision Making” program as of 2022/2023.  

This Master 2 program trains experts in public statistics and decision support. It is the only French Master to be certified as a European Master in Official Statistics (EMOS), a label issued by Eurostat. 

STATISTICAL EXPERTISE FOR PUBLIC DECISION SUPPORT

Public actors have at their disposal local, national, and even international databases, the multiplication of which has been encouraged by the development of information systems; they therefore need qualified statisticians at the highest level to design, analyze and exploit them. The aim of this specialization is precisely to meet this growing demand for statistical expertise in support of public decision-making.  

The curriculum combines advanced concepts in statistics, applied mathematics, economics, econometrics, and computer science. In all these fields, theory is illustrated by numerous examples and practical cases.  

Professionalization is at the heart of the Master. A large part of the teaching involves group work and personal work in the form of reports.  In addition, most of the courses are taught by professionals in the public statistics system.    

The Master’s degree in Data Science for Public Decision-Making includes three majors:  

  • Statistical Studies (ES)  
  • Methodology of Public Statistics (MSP)  
  • Statistics and Data Processing (STD) – not accessible to first-time enrollments in the delayed training program for INSEE statisticians.  

Curriculum 2021/2022

European Master in Official Statistics

ENSAI is a member of EMOS (European Master of Official Statistics), a network of higher education institutions offering a Master’s degree in the field of official statistics at the European level: more than 30 programs in some 20 countries. 

EMOS was set up to strengthen the collaboration between universities and producers of official statistics and to help train professionals to work with European official data at different levels in the rapidly evolving statistical production system. 

EMOS aims to enable students to become familiar with the official statistics system, production models, statistical methods, and dissemination. 

Civil servant students can spend their third year (M2 Master Data Science for Public Decision Making) at the University of Rome – La Sapienza to obtain the double degree: Master of Data Science for Public Decision Making at ENSAI/University of Rennes 1 and the MSc in Statistical Methods and Application – EMOS-Official Statistics track.  

INTERNSHIP AND THESIS  

For continuing education civil servants, the internship is carried out in the department where they are currently working. For all other students, the internship is carried out in an entity whose activity falls within the scope of the Master’s degree. 

The purpose of the internship is to put into practice the lessons and skills acquired during the Master’s program in order to respond in a rigorous and scientific manner to the problems of official statistics. It is also an opportunity to disseminate new methods of analysis in the professional world. Finally, the host organizations enrich and complete the students’ knowledge and skills through their professional approach.

Students must write a Master’s thesis linked to the end-of-studies internship, which leads to an oral defense. 

 

Admission

This program is open to students who have completed the first year of the Master’s program and to graduates of an equivalent level. Insee statisticians who have been admitted to the integrated (after two years of initial training) or delayed (during the first five years of professional life) continuing education program may also take the Master’s degree in Data Science for Public Decision-Making.  

Under certain conditions, and at the request of their supervisors, program courses may also be followed by Insee statisticians who are not enrolled in the Master’s program as part of their continuing education. These auditors register free of charge for the training courses, subject to availability and according to a schedule specific to each course. They are not evaluated and therefore do not validate ECTS credits for the course.  

The different admissions procedures for the Master’s degree in Data Science for Public Decision-making contribute to creating a diverse mix of student profiles each year 

Selection is based on an application file followed by an interview. The program is also open to continuing education and Erasmus exchange students.  

All applications must be submitted online via our website. Applications are currently closed.   

Application schedule: April to end of May.

Approximate number of students: 30.   

For information on admission: admission-statpublique@ensai.fr   

Career

The training received prepares graduates for scientific and technical professions centered on statistical engineering, economic and social information systems, and computer professions related to public statistics.   

It primarily meets the needs of public services, national administrations, and local authorities.  The main ministries (economy, agriculture, sustainable development, health, and social action, etc.), public establishments (notably social security funds and government welfare organizations), consular organizations, and agencies dependent on local authorities are likely to take advantage of the skills graduates.    

Graduates may also find opportunities in European (Eurostat) and international (OECD, IMF, World Bank) organizations, as well as consulting firms that provide crucial information to public decision-makers, notably at the local level. 

Contact

Brigitte GELEIN
Lecturer - Head of the Master in Evaluation Public Decision Making
Email
brigitte.gelein@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 65
Didier LE BOZEC
Academic Affairs and Admissions - Master in Public Evaluation and Decision Making
Email
admission-edpubliques@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 33 09

Testimonials

Meet Noémie Morenillas (ENSAI Class of 2018): a civil servant statistician currently working as a statistical studies manager at the National Institute of Statistics and Economic Studies in France (INSEE).
Read the testimonial

Recherche

Master Science des données pour la Décision Publique

Master mathématique et statistique appliquée agréé par l'Etat

 

Le Master Science des Données pour la Décision Publique est un des parcours proposés au sein du Master Mathématiques appliquées, Statistique co-accrédité avec l’Université de Rennes 1. Celui-ci se substitue à compter de 2022/2023 au Parcours « Évaluation et Décision Publiques ».

Seule formation française certifiée European Master in Official Statistics (EMOS), label délivré par Eurostat, ce Master 2 forme des experts en statistique publique et aide à la décision.

EXPERTISE STATISTIQUE POUR L’AIDE À LA DÉCISION PUBLIQUE

Les acteurs publics disposent de bases de données locales, nationales voire internationales, dont la multiplication a été favorisée par le développement des systèmes d’information ; ils ont donc besoin de statisticiens qualifiés au plus haut niveau pour les concevoir, les analyser et les exploiter. Le but de cette spécialité est précisément de répondre à cette demande croissante en expertise statistique pour l’aide à la décision publique.

Le programme des enseignements allie notions avancées en statistique, mathématiques appliquées,  économie, économétrie et informatique. Dans tous ces domaines, la théorie est illustrée par de nombreux exemples et cas pratiques.

La professionnalisation est au cœur du Master. Une grande partie des enseignements implique la réalisation de travaux de groupes et de travaux personnels sous forme de dossiers.  De plus, la majorité des enseignements est dispensée par des acteurs du système statistique public. 

Le Master Science des données pour la Décision Publique comprend trois majeures :

  • Études statistiques (ES)
  • Méthodologie de la statistique publique (MSP)
  • Statistique et traitement des données (STD) – non accessible à une première inscription en formation décalée pour les attachés statisticiens de l’Insee. 

 

Programme des enseignements 2021/2022

European Master in Official Statistics

L’ENSAI est membre d’un réseau d’établissements d’enseignement supérieur offrant un Master dans le domaine des statistiques officielles au niveau européen : plus de 30 programmes dans une vingtaine de pays. 
 
EMOS (European Master in Official Statistics) a été mis en place pour renforcer la collaboration entre les universités et les producteurs de statistiques officielles et aider à former des professionnels capables de travailler avec les données officielles européennes à différents niveaux dans le système de production en rapide évolution.

EMOS vise à permettre aux étudiants de se familiariser avec le système de la statistique officielle, les modèles de production, les méthodes statistiques et la diffusion.

Les étudiants attachés statisticiens peuvent passer leur troisième année (M2 Master Science des données pour la Décision Publique) à l’Université de Rome – La Sapienza pour obtenir le double diplôme : Master Science des données pour la Décision Publique de l’ENSAI/Université Rennes 1 et le MSc in Statistical Methods and Application – EMOS-Official Statistics track. 

Stage et mémoire

Pour les fonctionnaires en poste (formation continue), le stage est effectué dans le service d’affectation. Pour les étudiants non fonctionnaires et fonctionnaires en formation initiale, le stage est effectué dans une entité dont l’activité entre dans le champ de compétences du Master.  

Le stage a pour objet la mise en pratique des enseignements et compétences acquises au cours du Master de façon à répondre de façon rigoureuse et scientifique aux problématiques de la statistique publique. Il est également l’occasion de diffuser de nouveaux modes d’analyse dans le monde professionnel. Enfin, les structures d’accueil enrichissent et complètent les savoirs et compétences des étudiants grâce à leur approche métier.

Les étudiants doivent rédiger un mémoire de Master en relation avec le stage de fin d’étude qui fait l’objet d’une soutenance. 

Admission

Cette formation est ouverte aux étudiants ayant suivi la première année du Master et aux diplômés de niveau équivalent. Les attachés statisticiens de l’Insee admis à la formation continue diplômante intégrée (à l’issue des deux ans de formation initiale) ou décalée (au cours des cinq premières années de la vie professionnelle) peuvent aussi suivre le Master Science des données pour la décision publique. 

Les formations du Master peuvent aussi – sous certaines conditions et sur demande des responsables hiérarchiques – être accessibles en tant qu’auditeurs libres à des attachés statisticiens de l’Insee non-inscrits au Master dans le cadre de la formation continue. Ces auditeurs libres s’inscrivent gratuitement aux actions de formation, dans la limite des places disponibles et selon un calendrier propre à chaque enseignement. Ils ne sont pas évalués et ne valident donc pas l’enseignement concerné. 

Ces différentes modalités d’admission et de suivi du Master Science des données pour la décision publique induisent une mixité des profils d’étudiants chaque année. 

La sélection se fait par examen du dossier et un entretien. La formation est également ouverte en formation continue et aux étudiants en échange Erasmus. 

L’inscription via admission sur titres se fait en ligne sur notre site web. Les candidatures sont actuellement closes.  

Effectif indicatif de promotion : 30

Les candidatures sont closes pour la rentrée 2022/2023.

> Pour tout renseignement sur l’admission :  admission-statpublique@ensai.fr    

Carrière

D’une manière générale, la formation reçue prépare les diplômés aux métiers scientifiques et techniques centrés sur l’ingénierie statistique, les systèmes d’information économique et sociale et les métiers informatiques liés à la statistique publique 

Elle répond tout d’abord aux besoins des services publics, administrations nationales ou collectivités locales. Les principaux ministères (économie, agriculture, développement durable, santé et action sociale, etc.), des établissements publics (notamment les caisses de sécurité sociale et les organismes gestionnaires de prestations), les organismes consulaires et les agences dépendant des collectivités locales sont susceptibles de recourir aux compétences des titulaires de ce Master.   

Les diplômés pourront aussi trouver des opportunités dans des organismes européens (Eurostat) et internationaux (OCDE, FMI, Banque mondiale).  

Par ailleurs, les décideurs publics, notamment au niveau local, peuvent s’appuyer sur des cabinets de conseil spécialisés dans la décision publique :  ces cabinets peuvent ainsi également offrir des débouchés aux titulaires du Master Science des données pour la Décision Publique.

Contact

Brigitte GELEIN
Enseignante en statistique - Responsable du Data Science pour la décision publique
Email
brigitte.gelein@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 65

Témoignages

Après son parcours d'attachée et son Master Evaluation et décision publiques à l'ENSAI, Noémie a rejoint la direction générale de l'Insee où elle travaille sur les statistiques des entreprises.
Lire le témoignage

Issu du concours B/L, Valentin a choisi le parcours statisticien public de l'ENSAI. Il occupe aujourd'hui son premier poste à la direction générale de l'Insee avec l'esprit du service public chevillé au corps. Interview.
Lire le témoignage
Notre actualité

Vie étudiante, relations internationales, recherche… toute l’actu en un clin d’oeil.
clubs solidaires ensai

Voir les actualités
Calendrier scolaire

Dates de rentrée, fin de cours, jurys, vacances… le calendrier scolaire de l’ENSAI.

Toutes les infos
Intégrer l’ENSAI

L’ENSAI recrute à partir de Bac+2. Découvrez toutes les modalités d’admission.

Admission