Research

Data Engineering

The production of new and unstructured Big Data (voice, text, image), the advent of open data, and the ever-evolving capability to stock and treat data have open up new fields for data engineering. Big Data experts with mastery of both Computer Science and Statistics have become highly sought after. 

A Data Scientist who has studied the “Advanced Tools for Data Science and Machine Learning” program at ENSAI has in-depth knowledge of Computer Science as well as expert knowledge in Statistics. As an expert in Big Data, s/he has more than adequate knowledge in Systems Architecture, Networks, and IT Security to handle large volumes of data, create data storage solutions, and conduct multidimensional analyses on data. S/he also masters web semantic technologies.

Multi-Sector Relevance

The three major sectors for applying Big Data are industry (16.4 billion euros inveted in 2020 in the EU), finance (15.4 billion euros), and retail (8.2 billion euros)*. Beyond these fields, Big Data impacts numerous data-driven projects in the energy, transportation, health, and media sectors. These non-specialized experts can therefore put their skills to use for the whole economy. 

Big Data and AI

The Big Data specialization opens up numerous opportunities to pursue a PhD with numerous research topics in Data Science involving Machine Learning and Deep Learning linked to Artificial Intelligence. AI algorithms have begun to reach a level of  technological maturity which is expanding on the promises made by Big Data at the end of the 2000s. The impacts and applications of these advances are at the heart of the challenge facing Data Scientists today.

Keywords

Software Engineering /Digital Analysis / Statistical Machine Learning / Deep Learning /AI

Careers

Data Scientist / Social Network Analyst / Risk Manager /  Big Data Health Analyst / Supply Chain Optimizer

Businesses within the ENSAI ecosystem

Capgemini / EY / Lincoln / Naver Labs / Orange / Solocal Group / Safran / Thalès / Ubisoft…

Catalog Course

promo ingenierie donnees 2019

Data Engineering, class of 2019

Contact

Mohamed GRAIET
Research Professor in Computer Science - Co-Head of the Data Engineering and Machine Learning program
Email
mohamed.graiet@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 46
Hong-Phuong DANG
Assistant Professor of Machine Learning - Co-Head of the Data Engineering and Machine Learning program
Email
hong-phuong.dang@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 59
ENSAI Admissions
Engineer Statistician and Official Statistician Admissions
Email
admission@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 47 / 32 03

Recherche

L’ingénierie des données

La production nouvelle et massive de données non structurées (voix, textes, images…), l’émergence de l’open data et l’évolution des capacités de stockage/calcul ont ouvert ces dernières années des champs nouveaux dans l’ingénierie des données. Le profil « statisticien-informaticien », expert en Big Data, est donc très recherché.

Le Data Scientist qui aura suivi la spécialisation « Statistique et ingénierie des données » de l’ENSAI est en effet doté d’une forte culture informatique associée à son bagage initial de statisticien. Expert des environnements Big Data, il bénéficie des connaissances suffisantes en architecture des systèmes, en réseaux et en sécurité informatique pour manipuler de très grands volumes de données, créer des entrepôts de données et effectuer des analyses multi-dimensionnelles de ces données. Il maîtrise également les technologies du Web sémantique.

Tous les secteurs d’activités

Les trois principaux secteurs d’application du Big Data sont l’industrie (16,4 milliards d’euros investis en 2020 sur l’UE), la finance (15,4 milliards d’euros) et le retail (8,2 milliards d’euros)*. Au-delà, le Big Data touche l’ensemble des secteurs et de nombreux projets « data driven » sont menés dans l’énergie, les transports, la santé, les médias… Ces experts non spécialisés peuvent donc mettre leurs compétences au service de toute l’économie.

Le Big Data au service de l’IA

La spécialisation en Big Data permet bien entendu de poursuivre en thèse tant les sujets de recherche sont nombreux, notamment en Data Science, autour des technique de Machine Learning et Deep Learning liés à des projets d’Intelligence Artificielle. Les algorithmes d’IA commencent d’ailleurs à présenter une maturité technologique qui prolonge les perspectives ouvertes par le Big Data à la fin des années 2000 mais dont les enjeux et applications sont plus que jamais en construction… et dont il faut savoir relever les défis.

Mots clés

Génie logiciel /Digital Analysis / Statistical Machine Learning / Deep Learning /IA

Métiers

Data Scientist / Social network Analyst / Risk Manager / Health Big Data Analyst / Supply Chain Optimizer

Entreprises de l’écosystème ENSAI

Capgemini / EY / Lincoln / Naver Labs / Orange / Solocal Group / Safran / Thalès / Ubisoft…

Programme des enseignements

promo ingenierie donnees 2019

Filière Statistique et ingénierie des données, promotion 2019

Contact

Mohamed GRAIET
Enseignant en informatique, Docteur en informatique, HdR - Co-Responsable de la filière Statistique et ingénierie des données
Email
mohamed.graiet@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 46
Hong-Phuong DANG
Enseignant-chercheur en machine learning - Co-Responsable de la filière Statistique et ingénierie des données
Email
hong-phuong.dang@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 59
Service admission ENSAI
Parcours ingénieur et statisticien public
Email
admission@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 47 / 32 03

Témoignages

Bastien a intégré l'ENSAI et la filière "Ingénierie des données" après une prépa B/L. Très actif dans la communauté data science, il travaille aujourd'hui chez Datafab.
Lire le témoignage