Information Covid Research

Official Statistics : Measuring For Understanding

Through the civil servant program, ENSAI prepares students for a family of scientific and technical professions centered around statistical engineering and IT systems. Within Insee and the French Ministerial Statistical Services, these professions offer dynamic, fascinating, and even international careers.

Join Insee

After two years of studies, in which most classes are in common with the engineering program, official statistics students join the workforce. At Insee the career of a civil servant can also be oriented towards applied mathematics, economic studies or computer science. Objective: collect, produce, analyze and share statistical information on the economy, society, and French territory.

Processed rigorously and methodically, this information is useful to public authorities and services, local government, social partners as well as to businesses, the media, researchers, teachers, students, and even private individuals. This data allows everyone to enrich their knowledge, carry out studies, and make predictions and decisions. In the midst of the Coronavirus crisis, the outlook on economic activity that Insee delivers every two weeks is especially important.

Having graduated from ENSAI in 2018, Valentin Guilloton, joined Insee’s general management where he now participates in the production of macroeconomic indicators in the banking-insurance sector. It’s his first position as a project manager, which he appreciates for the variety of work and subjects covered as well as the perspectives that it offers in the Official Statistics System at Insee or in French ministries.

Continued higher education studies with the Master of Science in Public Evaluation and Decision Making

Undecided when she was accepted as a student at ENSAI, Noémie Morenillas finally favored the civil servant program over the engineering degree. “For job security*, of course, but also and especially because I had a strong hankering for economic and social sciences, which are more present in official statistics.” At the end of the two-year track, Noémie continued on with the Master of Science in Public Evaluation and Decision Making offered by ENSAI in co-accreditation with the University of Rennes 1. “It’s a very rich Master’s from a methodological and technical point of view, it really enabled us to professionalize. Besides, today I have a Master’s degree, like engineers” indicated the young project manager who will complete her first position at Insee’s general management and soon join the regional directorate of Toulouse for a new mission linked to the aerospace sector.

Find more testimonials from ENSAI alumni on our Youtube channel.

 

Internationalization, Data Science and AI

Besides Insee, statistical offices are additionally present in French ministries: land use planning, demographics, health, culture, the environment, defense, justice, social affairs, etc. the scope of official statistics are immense and evolving. It is also possible to work in other prestigious institutions like the Bank of France, research centers or even Eurostat, the European Union’s Statistical Office. The Master’s in Public Evaluation and Decision Making at ENSAI is actually the only French degree that is certified as a European master in official statistics (EMOS), a label awarded by Eurostat.

In France and abroad, the powerful emergence of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence is drawing a new perspective for careers in statistics. To process new sources of data while respecting privacy protection, the need to turn to qualified expertise continues to grow. Working in official statistics means evolving in diverse and fascinating domains, at the heart of scientific, economic, and social challenges of tomorrow.

*Official statistics students have the French civil servant status and are paid about €1,550 (gross) per month during their studies at ENSAI.

 


KEYWORDS

Survey / Methodology / Survey Theory / Microeconomics / Macroeconomics / Demography / Cartography / Spatial statistics

CAREERS

Behind the term civil servant statistician hides a multitude of careers proposed by Insee or the public statistical system. Current graduates of ENSAI have jobs such as: statistical project manager, data scientist on crime and delinquency, statistical and cartographic software design engineer, head of surveys on R&D in higher education and health, head of French foreign trade circumstances, development analyst, head of statistical work and studies on business demographics, head of electricity surveys, HR data analyst for French Armed Forces, head of investment accounts of the French economy, head of the economic monitoring of Italy and Spain, methodologist for regional and local studies, quality expert on nominative social security declarations, industrial statistics analyst, etc.

 


Graduation ceremony for the civil servant class of 2019

 

Find out more about ENSAI’s official statistics program

Information Covid Recherche

Statisticien public : mesurer pour comprendre

Via le cursus statisticien public, l’ENSAI prépare à une famille de métiers scientifiques et techniques centrés autour de l’ingénierie statistique et des systèmes d’information. Au sein de l’Insee et dans les services statistiques ministériels, ces métiers offrent des carrières dynamiques et passionnantes, y compris à l’international.

Rejoindre l’Insee

Après deux années largement communes avec le cursus ingénieur, les statisticiens publics entrent dans la vie active. A l’Insee, en tant qu’attaché statisticien, leur carrière peut aussi bien s’orienter vers les mathématiques appliquées, les études économiques que l’informatique. Objectif : collecter, produire, analyser et diffuser des informations statistiques sur l’économie, la société et les territoires français.

Traitées avec rigueur et méthode, ces informations sont utiles aux pouvoirs publics, aux administrations, aux collectivités territoriales, aux partenaires sociaux, mais aussi aux entreprises, aux médias, aux chercheurs, aux enseignants, aux étudiants et même aux particuliers. Elles leur permettent d’enrichir leurs connaissances, d’effectuer des études, de faire des prévisions et de prendre des décisions. En pleine crise du coronavirus, les points de conjoncture sur l’activité économique que livre l’Insee toutes les deux semaines sont ainsi particulièrement attendus.

Diplômé de l’ENSAI en 2018, Valentin Guilloton a rejoint la direction générale de l’Insee où il participe à la production des indicateurs macro-économiques du secteur banque-assurance. Un premier poste de chargé d’études qu’il apprécie tant par la variété de travaux et de sujets traités que par les perspectives qui lui sont offertes dans le Système statistique public (SSP), à l’Insee ou dans les ministères.

Un bac + 5 avec le Master Evaluation et décision publiques

Indécise au moment d’entrer à l’ENSAI, Noémie Morenillas a finalement préféré le parcours statisticien public au parcours ingénieur. « Pour la sécurité de l’emploi*, certes, mais aussi et surtout parce que j’avais une appétence forte pour les sciences économiques et sociales, plus présentes dans la statistique publique ». A l’issue des deux années du parcours, elle a suivi le Master Evaluation et décision publiques proposé par l’ENSAI en co-accréditation avec l’Université de Rennes 1. « C’est un master très riche d’un point de vue méthodologique et technique, il nous permet vraiment de nous professionnaliser. Et puis j’ai aujourd’hui un diplôme de niveau bac+5, comme les ingénieurs » indique la jeune chargée d’études qui achève son premier poste à la direction générale de l’Insee et rejoindra bientôt la direction régionale de Toulouse pour une nouvelle mission en lien avec le secteur aérospatial.

Retrouvez d’autres témoignages d’ENSAI Almuni sur notre chaîne Youtube.

Ouverture internationale, Data Science, IA

En marge de l’Insee, des services statistiques sont également présents dans les ministères : aménagement du territoire, démographie, santé, culture, environnement, défense, justice, affaires sociales… Les champs d’application de la statistique publique sont immenses et en pleine évolution. Il est aussi possible de travailler dans d’autres institutions prestigieuses comme la Banque de France, des centres de recherche ou encore Eurostat, l’office de statistique de l’Union européenne. Le Master Evaluation et décision publiques de l’ENSAI est d’ailleurs la seule formation française certifiée European master in official statistics (EMOS), label délivré par Eurostat.

En France et à l’étranger, l’émergence forte de la data science et de l’intelligence artificielle dessinent de nouvelles perspectives pour les métiers de la statistique. Pour traiter les nouvelles sources de données dans le respect de la vie privée, le besoin de recourir à des experts qualifiés ne cesse de croître. Etre statisticien public, c’est évoluer dans des sphères diverses et passionnantes, au cœur des grands enjeux scientifiques, économiques et sociétaux de demain.

*Les élèves statisticiens publics ont le statut de fonctionnaire de l’Etat et sont rémunérés environ 1550 € brut/mois durant leur scolarité à l’ENSAI.


MOTS CLÉS

Enquête / Méthodologie / Théorie des sondages / Micro-économie / Macro-économie / Démographie / Cartographie / Statistique spatiale

MÉTIERS

Derrière le terme statisticien public se cachent une multitude de métiers proposés à l’Insee ou dans le Système statistique public. Les diplômés de l’ENSAI sont aujourd’hui : chef de projet statistique, data scientist sur la criminalité et la délinquance, ingénieur-concepteur de logiciels statistiques et cartographiques, chargé des enquêtes sur la R&D dans l’enseignement supérieur et la santé, responsable de la conjoncture des échanges extérieurs de la France, analyste développeur, responsable des travaux statistiques et études sur la démographie des entreprises, responsable des enquêtes sur l’électricité, data analyste RH des Armées, responsable des comptes d’investissement de l’économie française, responsable du suivi conjoncturel de l’Italie et de l’Espagne, méthodologue pour les études régionales et locales, expert qualité sur les déclarations sociales nominatives, analyste des statistiques industrielles…


Cérémonie de remise des diplômes des attachés statisticiens de l’Insee – promotion 2019

 

Tout savoir sur le cursus statisticien public