Information Covid Research

Statistics For Evaluating Public Policies

The 3rd year specialization in Data Modeling for Spatial Analysis and Health Economics provides students with a wealth of skills in statistical engineering, economics, and econometrics applied to territory dynamics and health. Expertise in this domain is becoming increasing sought-after for evaluating public policies as well as in the private sector.

Observe and evaluate rigorously

When people think of “territory” they often think of urban policy. In this very critical domain, relying on experts who are meticulous about figures and the “power” of numbers as well as limits, who are also capable of distinguishing structural effects and windfall effects, from the real effects of implemented actions is an indispensable prerequisite to objective assessment of public policies.

Observing and evaluating are the mission of the French Commission for Territorial Equality* (Cget). This state service mobilizes numerous and various statistical data in order to draw attention to territorial inequalities by paying particular attention to “fragile” territories (urban policy districts, rural or landlocked areas, etc.). This monitoring provides the government with the keys to understand so that it can put appropriate solutions into place. “Our studies lead to government bills, to measures adapted to the territories in which they are deployed, and we can therefore measure their impact. This is really motivating!” explained Brigitte Baccaïni, assistant director of statistical Observation and Analysis at Cget.

étudiants ENSAI

Health economics, the pharmaceutical industry, consulting

On the health side of this degree, students in this program study the relationships between healthcare, retirement and territorial dynamics, and consequently the effects of public policy at work in these fields. It is possible for students to go even further in the mastery of health economics by studying methods of medico-economic evaluation and clinical trials. With these complimentary courses, the Data Scientists who graduate with a specialization in Spatial Analysis and Health Economics are invaluable experts in the pharmaceutical industry, clinical research organizations, and consulting firms specializing in assessment.

Training Through Research Option

ENSAI also offers students in the Spatial Analysis and Health Economics major the opportunity to prepare for a career as a researcher in the Research and Development department of private companies or in public laboratories. In the Training Through Research Option (OFPR in French), students’ course schedules are adapted to allow them to take classes in the Empirical and Theoretical Economics major of the Master in Economics at the Université d’Aix Marseille School of Economics (AMSE).

Keywords
Medico-Economics Analysis / Spatial Econometrics / Panel Data Econometrics / Meta Analysis / Territorial Dynamics / Demography / Physical and Social Networks / Actuarial and Insurance Mechanisms

Careers
Data Scientist / Data Analyst / Health Economic Analyst / Research Analyst…

 

*The Cget became the Agence nationale de la cohésion des territoires on January 1, 2020.

 

Find out more on the Data Modeling for Spatial Analysis and Health Economics Program

Recherche

Les statistiques pour évaluer les politiques publiques

La filière Ingénierie Statistique des Territoires et de la Santé apporte un bagage en ingénierie statistique, en économie et en économétrie appliquée à la connaissance des dynamiques territoriales et à la santé. Une expertise de plus en plus recherchée dans l’évaluation des politiques publiques mais aussi dans le secteur privé.

Observer et évaluer avec rigueur

Quand on pense “territoires”, on pense notamment politique de la ville. Dans ce domaine très sensible, s’appuyer sur des experts soucieux de la rigueur des chiffres, de leur “pouvoir” mais aussi de leurs limites, capable de distinguer les effets de structures, les effets d’aubaine, des réels effets qu’ont les actions mises en oeuvre est un gage indispensable à une évaluation objective des politiques publiques.

Observation et évaluer, c’est la mission du Commissariat général à l’égalité des territoires* (Cget). Ce service de l’Etat mobilise des données statistiques nombreuses et variées afin de mettre en évidence les inégalités entre territoires, en s’attachant particulièrement aux territoires « fragiles » (quartiers de la politique de la ville, espaces ruraux ou enclavés…). Ces travaux d’observation donnent des clés de compréhension au gouvernement, afin qu’il puisse mettre en œuvre des solutions appropriées. « Nos études découlent sur des projets de loi, sur des dispositifs adaptés aux territoires sur lesquels ils sont déployés, et nous pouvons donc en mesurer l’impact. Ce qui est très motivant ! » explique Brigitte Baccaïni, Sous-directrice Observation et Analyses statistiques du Cget.

étudiants ENSAI

Economie de la santé, industrie pharmaceutique, consulting

Côté santé, la filière aborde l’étude des liens entre systèmes de santé, de retraite, de dynamique des territoires et donc, là aussi, des effets des politiques publiques à l’oeuvre dans ces domaines. Il est même possible de s’engager plus encore dans la maîtrise de l’économie de la santé en étant formé aux méthodes d’évaluation médico-économiques, aux essais cliniques. Avec ce complément, les Data Scientists de la filière Ingénierie Statistique des Territoires et de la Santé sont des experts extrêmement précieux dans l’industrie pharmaceutique, les sociétés de recherche clinique et les cabinets de conseil en évaluation.

Option Formation Par la Recherche

L’ENSAI offre par ailleurs la possibilité aux élèves de la filière Ingénierie Statistique des Territoires et de la Santé qui le souhaitent de se préparer à une carrière de chercheur au sein des services Recherche et Développement des entreprises ou dans un laboratoire public. Dans le cadre de l’Option Formation Par la Recherche (OFPR), ces élèves bénéficient d’un aménagement de leur scolarité leur permettant notamment de suivre la spécialité Economie Théorique et Empirique du Master Economie de l’Université d’Aix Marseille School of Economics (AMSE).

 

Mots-clés
Analyse médico-économique / Econométrie spatiale / Econométrie des données de panel / Méta-analyse /
Dynamique territoriale / Démographie / Réseaux physiques et sociaux / Mécanismes assurantiels et actuariels

Métiers
Data Scientist / Data Analyst / Health Economic Analyst / Research Analyst…

 

*Le Cget est devenu l’Agence nationale de la cohésion des territoires le 1er janvier 2020.

En savoir plus sur la filière Ingénierie Statistique des Territoires et de la Santé