Information Covid Research

Study at ENSAI and Become a Biostatistician

The Covid-19 epidemic proves – as if it were needed – the fundamental importance of medical research. Biostatisticians trained at ENSAI contribute to scientific advances, like Mélanie Prague and Marie-Karelle Rivière. Their specialization in Biostatistics opened many doors for them in doctorate studies and research.

ENSAI offers a specialization in Biostatistics that allows students to embark on exciting careers in major pharmaceutical companies, biotechnology, and public health. During the 3rd year of ENSAI’s engineering degree, the Biostatistics program provides the necessary tools for students to specialize in the field of scientific experimentation. With classes such as survival analysis, mixed models, experiment design, epidemiology, clinical trials, and Omics data analysis allow students to gain a solid education that they can apply to the health sector.

eleves ENSAI

Biostatistics students, 2020 graduating class

During the academic year, students manage different projects. Three principal ones involve epidemiology, clinical trials, and Omics data analysis. These group projects not only allow students to complete and put into practice their theoretical knowledge learned in class but also to develop team spirit and teamwork skills.

Training Through Research Option

ENSAI offers its Biostatistics students the possibility to prepare for a career within the Research and Development department of companies or in public laboratories. In the Training Through Research Option (OFPR in French), class schedules at ENSAI are adjusted to allow students to take classes in one of the following three research-based master’s degree programs offered at the University of Rennes 1:

At the end of this program students can continue their studies in order to carry out a PhD or Cifre (an agreement with an industry to train through research) doctoral thesis.

Alumni Testimonials

Mélanie Prague (ENSAI 2010) and Marie-Karelle Rivière (ENSAI 2011) specialized in Biostatistics and a Research Master’s degree at the University of Rennes 1. They both completed a PhD, which opened many doors into the world of research.

Mélanie Prague is currently in charge of a research team at  InriaInserm where she carries out work on statistical modeling for immunology and the development of new vaccines.

 

Marie-Karelle Rivière is a bio statistician in methodology at Sanofi where she combines her interests in both medicine and mathematics.

 

Keywords
Biostatistics /  OMICS Data / Clinical trials / Epidemiology / Genomic / Experiment Design / Meta-analysis

Careers
Bio statistician / Research Engineer / Design Engineer / Researcher

 

Learn more about the Biostatistics Program

Information Covid Recherche

Faire l’ENSAI et devenir Biostatisticien.ne

L’épidémie de Covid-19 révèle – s’il en était besoin – l’importance fondamentale de la recherche médicale. Les biostatisticien.nes formé.es à l’ENSAI contribuent aux avancées de la science, à l’instar de Mélanie Prague et Marie-Karelle Rivière. Leur spécialisation en Sciences de la Vie leur a ouvert les portes du doctorat et de la recherche.

L’ENSAI propose une spécialisation en Biostatistique qui permet d’embrasser des carrières passionnantes au sein de grands laboratoires pharmaceutiques, dans les biotechnologies et dans la santé publique. En 3e année du cycle ingénieur, les enseignements de la filière Statistique pour les Sciences de la Vie apportent ainsi les outils nécessaires pour une spécialisation dans le domaine de l’expérimentation. Après des compléments en données de survie, modèles mixtes, régularisation et plans d’expériences, les cours d’épidémiologie, d’essais cliniques et l’analyse des données Omics permettent en particulier aux étudiants de recevoir une solide formation pour des applications dans le secteur de la santé.

eleves ENSAI

La filière Statistique pour les Sciences de la vie, promotion 2020

Tout au long de l’année, les étudiants gèrent différents projets. Les trois principaux correspondent aux cours d’épidémiologie, d’essais cliniques et d’analyse des données Omics. Ils permettent de compléter et de mettre en pratique les connaissances théoriques vues en cours. Ces projets sont aussi l’occasion de développer l’esprit d’équipe par des travaux en groupes de plusieurs étudiants.

Option Formation Par la Recherche

L’ENSAI offre la possibilité aux élèves de la filière Statistique pour les Sciences de la Vie qui le souhaitent de se préparer à une carrière de chercheur au sein des services Recherche et Développement des entreprises ou dans un laboratoire public. Dans le cadre de l’Option Formation Par la Recherche (OFPR), ces élèves bénéficient d’un aménagement de leur scolarité leur permettant notamment de suivre l’un des trois masters recherche suivants, proposés par l’Université de Rennes 1 :

A l’issue de ces parcours, ils pourront poursuivre en thèse académique ou en thèse Cifre.

Paroles d’Alumni

Mélanie Prague (ENSAI 2010) et Marie-Karelle Rivière (ENSAI 2011) ont suivi la spécialisation Statistique pour les Sciences de la Vie et un master à l’Université de Rennes 1. L’une et l’autre ont ensuite suivi une thèse validée par un doctorat qui leur a ouvert les portes de la recherche.

Mélanie Prague est aujourd’hui chargée de recherche dans une équipe InriaInserm au sein de laquelle elle mène des travaux sur la modélisation statistique au service de l’immunologie et du développement de nouveaux vaccins.

 

Marie-Karelle Rivière est biostatisticienne en méthodologie chez Sanofi où elle conjugue son intérêt croisé pour la médecine et les mathématiques.

 

Mots-clés
Biostatistique / Données OMICS / Essais cliniques / Epidémiologie / Génomique / Plans d’expérience / Méta-analyse

Métiers
Biostatisticien.ne / Ingénieur.e d’étude / Ingénieur.e de recherche / Chercheur.e

 

En savoir plus sur la filière Statistique pour les Sciences de la Vie