Information Covid Research

Bancassurance: a surge of data benefiting ENSAI students

One-third of ENSAI graduates work in bancassurance*. This sector offers multiple and dynamic careers, most notably for ENSAI students in the Risk Management and Financial Engineering program.

Etudiants ENSAI

For the last twenty years banking risk management has become unavoidable. The financial crisis in 2007/2008 proved the need to better evaluate and measure the risks associated with different operations. To do that, banks need to work with experts who are familiar with both banking regulations and advanced quantitative techniques.

Asset management is another growing sector in which the construction of effective quantitative tools for the proper management of financial savings has become vital. Financial institutions therefore need financial engineers who are competent in performance creation and management.

An applied field of study

ENSAI’s Risk Management and Financial Engineering program trains specialized engineers in quantitative finance, capable of innovating and proposing new analysis methods. In this program a large emphasis is given to simulating and studying concrete cases. In fact, this represents approximately one-third of the program. The main objective of this method is to enable students to sharpen their critical thinking skills and their creativity, two essential qualities in the ever more competitive financial industry.

After a Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics and Economics at the University of Rennes 1, Audrey Thominot (ENSAI 2016) joined ENSAI as a third-year student in the Risk Management and Financial Engineering program. Today she’s a Data Scientist at Euler Hermes and uses her Mathematics-IT-Economics background acquired during her engineering degree on a daily basis.  “On every project I manage all the analytical processing: from the construction of databases and indicators to the analysis of performance through the creation and production of statistical models.”

For Clément Leroux (ENSAI 2017), a young Quantitative Analyst at LCL, “statistics and data science in bancassurance are of paramount importance. Our work has a direct impact on the business. At LCL, for example, I created a model that enables us to anticipate the consequences of a potential financial crisis on the bank. It’s very demanding, requiring a great deal of analytical rigor, but it’s also very rewarding.”

Training Through Research Option

ENSAI offers its Risk Management and Financial Engineering students the possibility to prepare for a career as a researcher. In the Training Through Research Option (OFPR in French), class schedules at ENSAI are adjusted so that students can take classes for a Master’s degree in Finance at l’IGR (University of Rennes 1), specializing in Studies and Research in Finance.

 

*Source : enquête insertion 2019

 

Keywords

Investment strategy / Credit risk / Market risk /
Extreme risks / Liquidity management / Scoring / Finance / Quantitative research/ Regulation / Compliance

Careers

Data Scientist / Quantitative Risk Analyst / Quantitative Portfolio Manager

 

Discover more about the Risk Management and Financial Engineering program

Information Covid Recherche

Bancassurance : le boom de la data profite aux Ensaiens

Un tiers des diplômés de l’ENSAI travaille dans la bancassurance*. Le secteur propose des carrières multiples et très dynamiques, notamment pour les Ensaiens issus de la filière Gestion des risques et ingénierie financière.

Etudiants ENSAI

La gestion des risques bancaires a acquis depuis une vingtaine d’années une dimension incontournable. La crise financière de la fin des années 2000 a confirmé le besoin de mieux évaluer et mesurer le risque associé aux différentes opérations. Pour cela, les banques ont besoin de s’appuyer sur des experts maîtrisant à la fois la règlementation bancaire et les techniques quantitatives avancées.

La gestion des actifs connaît également une forte croissance et la construction d’outils quantitatifs efficaces pour bien gérer l’épargne financière est devenue indispensable. Les institutions financières ont alors besoin d’ingénieurs financiers compétents dans la gestion et la création de performance.

 

Une filière appliquée

La filière Gestion des risques et ingénierie financière de l’ENSAI forme des ingénieurs spécialistes de la finance quantitative, capables d’innover et de proposer de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse. Dans ce cursus, une grande importance est ainsi accordée à la mise en situation sur des cas concrets. Ces derniers représentent un tiers des enseignements. Objectif : permettre aux élèves d’aiguiser leur esprit critique et leur créativité. Des qualités essentielles dans une industrie financière de plus en plus concurrentielle.

Après une licence de mathématiques et économie à l’Université de Rennes 1, Audrey Thominot (ENSAI 2016) a intégré l’ENSAI. Elle a suivi la filière Gestion des risques et ingénierie financière en 3e année. Aujourd’hui Data Scientist chez Euler Hermes, elle utilise au quotidien son bagage mathématiques-informatique-économie acquis lors de sa formation d’ingénieure. « Sur chaque projet, je gère l’ensemble des traitements analytiques. De la construction des bases de données et des indicateurs à l’analyse de la performance en passant par la création et la mise en production des modèles statistiques ».

Pour Clément Leroux (ENSAI 2017), jeune Analyste quantitatif chez LCL, « les statistiques et la data science dans la bancassurance ont une importance capitale. Notre travail a un impact direct sur l’entreprise. Chez LCL, j’ai par exemple créé un modèle qui permet d’anticiper les conséquences d’une potentielle crise financière sur la banque. C’est très exigeant, cela demande énormément de rigueur analytique mais c’est aussi très gratifiant ».

Option formation par la recherche

L’ENSAI offre la possibilité aux élèves de la filière Gestion des risques et ingénierie financière qui le souhaitent de se préparer à une carrière de chercheur. Dans le cadre de l’Option Formation Par la Recherche (OFPR), ces élèves bénéficient d’un aménagement de leur scolarité leur permettant notamment de suivre le Master Finance de l’Institut de Gestion de Rennes (Université de Rennes 1), spécialité Etudes et recherche en Finance.

 

*Source : enquête insertion 2019

 

Mots-clés

Stratégie d’investissement / Risque de crédit / Risque de marché
Risques extrêmes / Gestion de liquidité / Scoring / Finance / Recherche quantitative / Réglementation / Compliance

Métiers

Data Scientist / Quantitative Risk Analyst / Quant Portfolio Manager

 

En savoir plus sur la filière Gestion des risques et ingénierie financière