Information Covid Research

Official Statistics

Through its Official Statistician program,  ENSAI prepares students for a multitude of scientific and technical careers involving Statistical Engineering and IT Systems in the Official Statistical System, most notably within INSEE, France’s National Statistics Institute. 

Collecting, producing, analyzing, communicating, coordinating, training, researching, and contributing to the creation of an International Statistical System are all part of the mission that drives INSEE.

To achieve these goals, INSEE does not need just one type of Official Statistician but many. Someone who likes Mathematics can work as a methodology specialist to calculate the accuracy of statistics and define or improve survey design. Someone who is more interested in IT is just as essential as s/he helps develop the networks and IT tools necessary for data collection, analysis, dissemination, and more. Someone with a passion for Economics and Sociology may go on to work for the Ministry of Economy and Finance to help inform public policy decisions.

INSEE is also a place where innovation takes place, in collaboration with research laboratories like Crest or l’Ined. In 2017, INSEE Official Statisticians placed second in the Big Data Hackathon of European Official Statistics. The goal was to develop a prototype responding to the following question: “How can you use data to help EU decision makers reduce the disconnect between job offers and available skills?”

INSEE is the main organization charged with Official Statistics and Economic Studies in France. The headquarters are located in Paris and regional offices are located throughout France. Several ministries also have statistical services including Economy, Education, Labor, Social Affairs, and Sustainable Development.

It is also possible to work in other prestigious institutions like the Bank of France, national and international research centers, and Eurostat. Becoming an Official Statistician means evolving within fascinating and diverse professional spheres.

Keywords

Study / Methodology /Sampling Theory / Microeconomics / Macroeconomics / Demography / Cartography / Spatial Statistics

 

Careers

Official Statistician / Study Manager / Methodologist / Data Scientist

 

Institutions within the ENSAI ecosystem

Banque de France / Eurostat / INED / INSEE / Statistics Canada / Central Statistics Office (Ireland) / Destatis (Germany)

 

Contact

ENSAI Admissions
Engineer Statistician and Official Statistician Admissions
Email
admission@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 47 / 32 03

Testimonials

Meet Anthony Caruso (ENSAI 2013): a civil servant statistician currently working for the Ministerial Statistical Services (SSM).
Read the testimonial

Information Covid Recherche

La statistique publique

Via le cursus statisticien public (fonctionnaire de l’Etat),  l’ENSAI prépare à une famille de métiers scientifiques et techniques centrés autour de l’ingénierie statistique et des systèmes d’information, au sein du Système Statistique Public (SSP) et notamment de l’Insee.

Collecter et produire, analyser, diffuser coordonner, former et développer la recherche, contribuer à l’édification d’un espace statistique international : ce sont les grandes missions de l’Insee.

Pour les réaliser, il n’y a pas qu’un seul métier de statisticien public. Vous aimez les mathématiques ? Vous pourrez être méthodologue pour aider à calculer la précision des statistiques, définir des plans de sondages, améliorer les enquêtes… Vous aimez l’informatique ? Vous participerez au développement des chaînes informatiques. Vous aimez la sociologie et l’économie ? Des postes de chargés d’études vous attendent. Vous aimez la politique économique ? Des postes sont accessibles au Ministère de l’économie pour aider à la décision publique.

L’Insee est également lieu d’innovation en lien avec des centres de recherche comme le Crest ou l’Ined… En 2017, des statisticiens publics de
l’Insee ont terminé 2e au Hackathon Big Data de la statistique publique européenne. L’objectif était de proposer en deux jours des prototypes qui répondraient à la question « Comment utiliser les données pour aider les décideurs de l’Union européenne à réduire l’inadéquation entre les emplois proposés et les compétences disponibles ? ».

L’Insee est le principal organisme en charge des statistiques publiques et des études économiques. La Direction Générale se situe à Paris et des Directions Régionales sont présentes sur tout le territoire. Des services statistiques sont également présents dans chaque ministère : économie, éducation, travail, affaires sociales, développement durable…

Il est aussi possible de travailler dans d’autres institutions prestigieuses comme la Banque de France, des centres de recherche, Eurostat… Etre statisticien public, c’est évoluer dans des sphères très diverses et passionnantes.

Mots clés

Enquête / Méthodologie / Théorie des sondages  / Micro-économie / Macro-économie / Démographie / Cartographie / Statistique spatiale

Métiers

Statisticien / Chargé d’études / Méthodologue / Data Scientist

Institutions de l’écosystème ENSAI

Banque de France / Eurostat / Ined / Insee / Services statistiques ministériels / Statistics Canada / Central Statistics Office (Ireland) / Destatis (Germany)…

Contact

Service admission ENSAI
Parcours ingénieur et statisticien public
Email
admission@ensai.fr
Téléphone
+33 (0)2 99 05 32 47 / 32 03

Témoignages

Statisticien public (ENSAI 2013), Anthony Caruso évolue dans les SSM : les Services Statistiques Ministériels. Rencontre.
Lire le témoignage