Research

Values

In a digital world in which the use of data and the creation of algorithms is becoming more and more critical for decision-making, ENSAI plays an essential role in educating experts capable of making sense of all the data being created and collected. 

Multidisciplinary Excellence

ENSAI’s demanding multidisciplinary programs offer in-depth courses in Statistics, Applied Mathematics, Economics, and Computer Science applied to Big Data and Machine Learning.

Informed by the CREST (Center for Research in Economics and Statistics) laboratory’s high-level fundamental and applied research, our teachers and students develop algorithms which are relevant thanks to their understanding of the mechanisms behind them and their applicability in given fields.

ENSAI’s reputation as a leader in the field is the result of this high-level scientific and operational expertise that we have cultivated since the founding of the school in 1996.

Diversity

All of our students arrive at ENSAI with solid foundations in Mathematics and with the ability to think abstractly, which are essential for understanding and analyzing complex situations. Nevertheless, students come from varied backgrounds, programs, and places and as such have different affinities for the disciplines taught at ENSAI. This diversity is a rich resource and one of ENSAI’s strengths.

Diversity is part of the ENSAI brand. It informs our recruitment processes and is at the heart of our policies to make sure everyone has an equal and equitable chance to succeed.

Responsibility

Higher education institutions have the primary mission of creating and transmitting knowledge and good practices to their students, the leaders of tomorrow. ENSAI is committed to being socially responsible and active in the effort to transform how higher education and research can have a positive impact on society.

As data experts, our students are trained to be up-to-date and respect the latest legal obligations for handling data, like the EU’s GDPR, which ensure consent and explain how data will be used, confidentiality measures, and data protection. Through courses and special conferences, they are made aware of the ethical implications of being a Data Scientist and the potential discriminatory or manipulative risks associated with some algorithms.

Innovation

Data Science and Artificial Intelligence are two themes which resonate with the statistical, economic, and IT skills historically taught at ENSAI. The not-so-new practice of multidisciplinary teaching at ENSAI has allowed the school to become a major actor in innovation and making sense of Artificial Intelligence algorithms, which are all too often used as push-button solutions.

Innovation is also at the heart of transforming pedagogy at ENSAI. For example, the school is leading the Data Tank for a project, the “Développement d’un Enseignement Supérieur Innovant à Rennes (DESIR),” with the goal of creating innovative methodological and digital tools for all the local institutions. These institutions include: Université de Rennes 1, Université Rennes 2, Agrocampus Ouest, Centrale Supelec, Ecole des hautes études en santé publique, Ecole normale supérieure de Rennes, Ecole nationale supérieure de chimie de Rennes, INSA Rennes, and Sciences Po Rennes.

Recherche

Engagements et valeurs

Dans un monde numérique où l’exploitation des données et la production d’algorithmes deviennent chaque jour un enjeu plus déterminant pour la décision, l’ENSAI joue un rôle essentiel en formant des experts capables de donner du sens aux données.

L’excellence multidisciplinaire

La formation de l’ENSAI est fondée sur une multidisciplinarité exigeante : proposer aux élèves un enseignement aussi approfondi en statistique-mathématique, en économie, et en informatique appliquée au traitement des données massives et au Machine Learning.

Portés par le projet scientifique de haut niveau qui irrigue les laboratoires du CREST (Centre de Recherche en Economie et Statistique), nos enseignants-chercheurs et nos élèves développent des algorithmes maîtrisés grâce à la compréhension de leurs mécanismes et de leur domaine de validité.

La reconnaissance de l’ENSAI est le fruit de cette exigence scientifique et opérationnelle que nous défendons depuis la création de l’école en 1996.

La diversité

Tous nos élèves ont en commun un solide bagage mathématique traduisant la capacité d’abstraction indispensable pour comprendre et analyser des situations complexes. Pour autant, l’origine, le parcours, la sensibilité de nos élèves sont des différences dont notre Grande Ecole publique sait se nourrir et s’enrichir.

Cette diversité fait partie intégrante de la marque de l’ENSAI. Elle oriente sa stratégie de recrutement et constitue un point important de sa politique d’égalité des chances.

La diversité oriente la stratégie de recrutement de l'ENSAI et constitue un point important de sa politique d'égalité des chances.

 

La responsabilité

Les établissements d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche ont pour vocation première de créer de la connaissance et de transmettre compétences et bonne pratiques à leurs élèves, cadres dirigeants de demain. L’ENSAI a fait sien cet axiome, fer de lance de la responsabilité sociétale, qui milite pour la transformation des méthodes pour renforcer l’impact positif de l’enseignement et de la recherche sur la société.

En tant que professionnels du traitement des données, nos ingénieurs sont formés pour connaitre et appliquer les dernières dispositions du règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD) garantissant le libre consentement, l’explicitation des finalités du traitement, la confidentialité et la protection des données. A travers les cours, des conférences dédiées, ils sont sensibilisés à l’aspect éthique du métier de data scientist et aux risques d’ éventuelles dérives manipulatoires ou discriminatoires de certains algorithmes.

L’innovation

La Data Science et l’Intelligence Artificielle sont des thèmes qui résonnent avec les compétences statistiques, informatiques et économiques historiquement mises en oeuvre à l’ENSAI. La pratique ancienne d’une réelle multidisciplinarité reste un véritable atout qui permet aujourd’hui à l’ENSAI d’occuper une position majeure pour innover et donner du sens aux algorithmes d’intelligence artificielle, trop souvent utilisés comme des boîtes noires.

L’innovation porte également sur la pédagogie. L’ENSAI participe par exemple au projet “Développement d’un Enseignement Supérieur Innovant à Rennes” (DESIR) qui vise à déployer des outils méthodologiques et numériques novateurs en impliquant tous les acteurs des établissements. L’Université de Rennes 1, l’Université Rennes 2, Agrocampus Ouest, Centrale Supelec, l’Ecole des hautes études en santé publique, l’Ecole normale supérieure de Rennes, l’Ecole nationale supérieure de chimie de Rennes, l’Insa de Rennes et Sciences Po Rennes font également partie de ce projet.